The Luck of the Irish

By Nancy Whetstone

(Puppets:  Lamb, Frog, and Lucky, the dog.  Props:  An iris, a picture of an ibis, and a shamrock.)

LAMB:  Hi!  I’m here to talk to you about something that happens every spring.  It’s called St. Patrick’s day, and…(Frog enters)

FROG:  (holding a picture of an iris)  Hi, Lamb!  Whatcha doing?

LAMB:  Oh, hi Frog.  I was just telling the kids about Spring, and St. Patrick’s day.  What’s that you’re holding?

FROG:  Oh, this?  (Lamb nods)  This is an iris.  Isn’t it pretty?

LAMB:  Yes, it is.  Why are you holding an iris?  Are you going to give it to your mom?

FROG:  Well, I guess she’d like that, but I was going to keep it for myself.

LAMB:  Why?

FROG:  Well, you know.  So I could have the luck of the iris.

LAMB:  The luck of the iris?  I never heard of that.  I don’t think irises are good luck.

FROG:  Really?  Hmmm.  Maybe I was wrong.  I’ll see you later, Lamb.

LAMB:  O.K., Frog.  (Frog leaves stage)  Anyway, kids.  What was I saying?  Oh, yes.  I was going to talk to you about something that happens every spring.  It’s called St. Patrick’s day, and on this special day people wear green and have fun parties and…(Frog enters)

FROG:  (holding a picture of an ibis)  Hi, Lamb!

LAMB:  Frog, you interrupted me again!

FROG:  Oh, sorry, Lamb.

LAMB:  That’s OK, Frog.  You know I always have time to talk to my best friend.  The kids don’t mind.

FROG:  Well, thanks, Lamb.  You’re my best friend, too!

LAMB:  That’s good to know, Frog.  So, what are you holding now?

FROG:  Oh, this?  (Lamb nods)  This is a bird called an ibis.  They’re very lucky.  I couldn’t catch a real one, so I have this picture.

LAMB:  Ibises are lucky?  (Frog nods)  Who told you that?

FROG:  Nobody told me that.  I mean, I overheard some people talking about having the luck of the ibis, so I got a picture of an ibis.  I hope it’s as lucky as the real thing.

LAMB:  Well, I’m just a lamb, so maybe I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure there’s no such thing as a lucky ibis.

FROG:  Really?  Hmmmm.  Maybe I’m wrong again.  I’ll see you later, Lamb.

LAMB:  O.K., Frog.  (Frog leaves stage)  Anyway, kids.  What was I saying?  Oh, yes.  I was going to talk to you about something that happens every spring.  It’s called St. Patrick’s day, and on this special day people wear green and have fun parties and people from Ireland celebrate it as their very own holiday…(Frog enters)

FROG:  Lamb, sorry to interrupt.  But this is driving me crazy.

LAMB:  What, Frog?

FROG:  Well, I can’t figure out what the people were saying was lucky.  I don’t think it’s an iris.  Even though it’s a pretty flower, I stubbed my toe when I was carrying it, and I don’t think that’s lucky.

LAMB:  No, that doesn’t sound lucky to me.

FROG:  And then I had the picture of the ibis.  And it didn’t seem like it was lucky because my mom got angry at me because I tracked mud on the floor.  Maybe you have to catch a real ibis or something. (Dog enters)

LUCKY:  Hi, my name is Lucky.  I heard you talking about ibises.  I don’t think you want to catch one.

FROG:  Why not?

LUCKY:  Because they might want to catch YOU!

FROG:  Why would an ibis want to catch me?

LUCKY:  Because I think an ibis might eat a frog for lunch.  I think you want to stay away from them!

FROG:  Yes, you are right!  I will stay away from them!  Oh, well.  I guess I’ll never have any luck.

LAMB:  Well, your name is Lucky.  Are you a lucky dog?

LUCKY:  Yes, I suppose I am a lucky dog.  In fact, I was born on St. Patrick’s day, and I have a wonderful family who loves me very much.  My family is Irish, so having a dog born on St. Patrick’s day was special to them, and they always say they’re lucky to have me, too.  Well, I’d better go, nice meeting you.  Good luck finding good luck!!  (Lucky leaves stage)

FROG:  Hey!!  That’s what it was!

LAMB:  What, Frog?

FROG:  That’s what those people were talking about.  It wasn’t the luck of the iris, or the luck of the ibis.  It was the luck of the Irish!!  Whatever that means.

LAMB:  I’m not sure, Frog.  But I know you are already lucky.

FROG:  Really?  (Lamb nods)  Why do you say that?

LAMB:  Well, you don’t have to wear green on St. Patrick’s day, for instance.  You’re already green.  I get all my wool shaved off in the spring, and I look silly.  You don’t have wool, so you look the same all the time.  Plus, you can swim really well, and catch flies with your tongue.  Nobody else can do that.

FROG:  True, true.  But I wish I were really, really lucky.  (Lucky enters holding a shamrock)

LUCKY:  Hi, Frog.  I have something for you.

FROG:  What, Lucky?

LUCKY:  It’s a shamrock, which is a four-leaf clover, and people say it’s good luck.

LAMB:  Is it good luck, Lucky?

LUCKY:  I don’t know for sure.  But I do know one thing.

FROG:  What’s that, Lucky?

LUCKY:  You two are the luckiest animals I know.

LAMB:  Why do you say that, Lucky?

LUCKY:  Because you both have an awesome best friend.  I wish I had friends as great as you two.

FROG:  Well, Lucky, today is your lucky day!

LUCKY:  Why?

LAMB:  Because you’re our new friend!!

LUCKY:  Wow!  I guess I do have the luck of the Irish!

THE END

Copyright © 2010 Nancy Whetstone

About wvstoryteller

Storyteller and retired librarian with over 10 years experience in children's programming and 15 years experience as professional storyteller. Created a successful puppetry troupe for teens that continues today, and wrote many scripts for the group.
This entry was posted in Irish-St.Patrick's Day, Puppet Scripts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

